tekArtist


If you happen to be both a WPhone and Facebook user, we invite you to check out the new WPhone Administration Plugin page Doug had the insight to setup today.

Icon Stephane Daury
Web Architect
Montreal, QC, Canada

Geo: +45° 30' 16.76", -73° 34' 34.86"

One more! Tonight was FaceBookCampMontreal, an unconference for everyone with an interest in building on the Facebook Platform. Once again, great event, great crowd, very interesting subject.

I’d venture to say that the event was actually a bit late for the developer crowd, since we’ve all drunk the Facebook API Kool-Aid months ago, and most of us have been playing with it publicly or in private sandboxes. On the other hand, the PR crowd was there in full force and was visibly excited by the torrent of opportunities the FB ecosystem truly is.

So if you need a Facebook application and don’t know where to start, a good first step is to call Plank. :o) We’ll hook you up with a strategy that makes sense for both you and your users/audience.

I also have my own pipe dreams, but I’m just too busy to take on yet another project right now. Maybe in December…

Icon Stephane Daury
Web Architect
Montreal, QC, Canada

Geo: +45° 30' 16.76", -73° 34' 34.86"

I’m trying to kickstart a group on FB that aims to reach the largest audience of Open Source developers on the site, be it software, hardware, content and other open ventures.

Join in, say hi, show your colours and maybe even inspire others.

Post early, post often. You can also spread the word, thanks to Digg.

Oh, and if you’re feeling creative, an original logo would be great. :)

Icon Stephane Daury
Web Architect
Montreal, QC, Canada

Geo: +45° 30' 16.76", -73° 34' 34.86"

See attached pict. Caption reads: Hey, your account is temporarily unavailable due to site maintenance. It should be available again within a few hours. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Down for maintenance.

If the current trend continues, a couple of years from now, Facebook going down will be the equivalent of having your router die on you… ;)

But for now, I guess I’ll just have to drown my sorrow in code, since the kids are off to the movies. Or who knows, I might even go… outside… Imagine that!

Icon Stephane Daury
Web Architect
Montreal, QC, Canada

Geo: +45° 30' 16.76", -73° 34' 34.86"

A friend of mine supposedly sent me a Facebook-based invite for an FB app called Advanced Wall. It came as a notification in FB and prompted me to retrieve a message from my contact by adding the app to my profile.

‘k, I bite, since I’m in Facebook-API-craze mode for work and fun anyway and get the following, as allegedly written by my friend:

Check this out!

It’s an Advanced Wall!

You can change colors, sizes, fonts, add smilies, pictures, videos and a lot more…

:)

Odd.. Especially from the supposed author…

First, I was just curious to know if they are using tinyMCE for the advanced editor, like WordPress and co. Evidently, I dig a bit deeper, and fire up Firebug, which as a complete aside is the most amazing piece of software. I use it everyday, and am still baffled by how efficient and powerful it all is.

So, the Javascript doesn’t look familiar and the editor’s iframe goes to http://ai.idlestudios.com/write.php, a domain which strangely enough doesn’t respond under http://www.idlestudios.com/ or http://idlestudios.com/, and just redirects http://ai.idlestudios.com/ to the app’s description inside FB (as of 2007-07-22, ~1 AM).

Odder…

Head off the the terminal: whois idlestudios.com tells me the domain is registered to a more than likely fine fellow from the Russian Federation, which in and of itself doesn’t really imply anything.

But that’s when I start noticing the ads in multiple locations around the Advanced Wall’s WYSIWYG editor. Text ads, subtly placed in the telling Facebook colour scheme. Blockbuster, icon sets, the usual.

So on to my friend’s profile I go, and what do you know? What do I see on his wall, with no other message than:

Check this out!

It’s an Advanced Wall!

You can change colors, sizes, fonts, add smilies, pictures, videos and a lot more…

:)

Really? And it’s coming from someone else in my contact’s own friend list…

Next: Facebook » Profile » Applications » Edit » Remove

:)

This all said, I haven’t gotten a reply from my friend yet on if he actually sent the invite in the first place (it’s late, and the invite was sent at 11:59pm), so maybe I’m just seeing things and outta get to bed. I’ll post an update here when I know more. Call me traumatized by another friend’s experience. ;P See update below.

Personally, I’m not sure I’m willing to go for this one anyway. Best case scenario, it’s gonna be MySpace all over again…

And if by any chance you receive an invite for Advanced Wall from me, you’ll at least know how it did not get there: Not-by-my-click.

Update (20:45): Well, it seems that my friend is as surprised as I was. Although he did see an option to invite his friends, he is fairly sure he canceled. Yet, the app seems to have propagated itself to his contact list. He also had the same reaction as I with the dubious first message template, and brought to light an error message he received from the app stating “there are still glitches we’re working on with the facebook team“. So worm[-ish]? Questionable interaction design? Buggy app? Plain old bad taste? I’m not a security expert by any stretch, so I’ll hold off on the labeling, but as a software developer, I say: none for me, thanks.

Icon Stephane Daury
Web Architect
Montreal, QC, Canada

Geo: +45° 30' 16.76", -73° 34' 34.86"

Site Navigation